Home > Google, Idiots > Despite what AllThingsD says, I don’t buy into the Nexus One Hype.

Despite what AllThingsD says, I don’t buy into the Nexus One Hype.

AllThingsD can stop lying about me anytime they’d like, because there’s no crapdamn way I ever actually referred to the Nexus One as a Superphone. This is a lie:

Google this week is taking two dramatic steps to try to catapult devices using its Android mobile operating system into stronger competition with Apple’s (AAPL) iPhone and Research in Motion’s (RIMM) BlackBerry in the battle for supremacy in the super-smartphone category.

Why the goddamn Hell would I call a smartphone a super-smartphone? That wouldn’t make sense! It doesn’t make sense for anyone else to call it that, either, because it’s a useless label. Fuck you, super-smartphone, you don’t mean anything.

Only a marketing flak would call a smartphone a super-smartphone to try to lamely distinguish it from the competition that it is squarely standing next to, and only an idiot would repeat the term as if it meant anything at all.

A smartphone refers to a class of phones, with a range of functionality. It doesn’t refer to how awesome and super-hawt the phones are, nor does it make sense to bifurcate the goddamn naming system just because this phone is better in slight ways; that’s like saying that the 2011 Focus will be a super-sedan because it has a nicer cup-holder. It’s stupid. Also, what happens when the Nexus Two comes out, or the iPhone 4G? Are those super-duper smartphones? This whole thing makes me want to wretch.

Seriously, I’m so pissed off by this, I think I’m going to go TP Rupert Murdoch’s house.

  1. January 9, 2010 at 1:13 am

    If you ask me they’re all stupid phones. They’re nice handheld computers but the phone part is freakin’ lousy, whether I’m using Verizon, T-Mobile or AT&T. That’s why I prefer using iTouch with VoIP app and headset mic. It looks retarded and backwards but I don’t give a shit – at least it works and is way cheaper $2000 two year contract.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

