Home > Idiots, Small Things I Blow Out Of Proportion > Design Professionals don’t read TUAW, apparently.

Design Professionals don’t read TUAW, apparently.

Today Adobe announced their new version of Creative Suite, CS5. Lots of big features, including the I’m-not-sure-it’s-not-fake-or-magical-garden-gnomes Content-Aware Fill. Lots of blogs are writing about it, including the folks over at The Unofficial Apple Weblog, which they hilariously titled “Adobe CS5 launched, wallets everywhere cry out as one and are silenced.

There’s nothing wrong with the article, but reading the comments, with people bitching and moaning about how much the software costs, I started to get a migraine. And I fixed it with scotch. And now I’m drunk!

Wheeeeeeee!

“Applezilla” — totally his real name — said:

Pass. I just paid $600 to upgrade to CS5 last year. In this economy, they should should have thought of their loyal base. Wake me when CS6 ships.

Gary the unemployed sealion said:

Prices are ridiculous… upgrade for over 600 bucks.

Sorry but it’s not worth the price. Flash is gone and so are your expensive upgrade costs.

Some cheap bastard named Dirk said, while cracking legitimate software, said:

I try to wean myself away from Adobe and save the money.

Andre, who doesn’t understand the goddamn concept of progress, said:

I use only Photoshop. FOr me to upgrade form CS3 to CS4 was going to be $199. I see to go to CS5 is $399. Why $200 more?

I won’t be doing it. I was ready to shell out $199, but to double the price? I’ll stay with the old version thank you.

I’m not drunk enough to keep reading these comments.

Now I am.

Anyway, reading these comments I was struck by a sudden realization: none of these bastards were working design professionals. How do I know? I know because design professionals realize, as all professionals do, that a good tool is worth the cost. So the top-tier app is $2600. So what? First of all, most of the people getting CS5 will upgrade, and that only costs around $700-$800.

Complaining about the full retail price of Adobe’s software is like complaining about how much Microsoft’s full retail price is. Sure, it IS high, but nobody pays it, jackass.

Is $400 or $600 or $800 expensive? Sure, it can be, but if you’re a professional you bundle that cost into the actual, factual paying work you do. It’s how grown-ups operate, which is apparently something beyond the understanding of the average TUAW reader, since they appear to be bloggers, or some other group of immature crapholes who don’t have to do real work, and who can get by on free tools — like Notepad! — to do 100% of their work.

Some people have real work to do, and they need real tools. And they are happy to pay real money to save real time, which makes it even easier for the software to pay for themselves.

Seriously, TUAW readers, when you climb up those basement stairs and have to start paying your own crapdamn rent, you’ll understand the value of this thing we adults have called “money” and “time.” And then, hopefully, you’ll shut up.

Shhhuuuut up.

  1. April 12, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    That’s the problem with a suite like Adobe’s. Most of the people ‘using’ it these days wouldnt now what an ‘Alpha curve’ was if you plotted it on their levels widget. They have probably never paid for it.

    I have CS3 which i paid for and i need these apps to do professional work, not sure if im going to drop the cash for this one or wait 7 months from now when they decide to stop supporting this one because the new one is coming out.

    I will say that selling the ‘Design Premium’ without fireworks DOESNT MAKE ANY FUCKING SENSE.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

